Politician of the Year Award 2022

According to the Inter-Parliamentary Union, only 2% of parliamentarians globally are under the age of 30 and just 14% are under 40. The issue is exacerbated by policies in 73% of countries which restrict young people of voting age from running for office. Lack of representation raises the substantial risk of disconnecting an entire generation from their nations’ political processes.

The One Young World Politician of the Year Award was created in 2018 to recognise the most promising young politicians between the ages of 18-35 from around the world. The winners are selected based on the impact they are having in their home countries and how they have used their position to benefit young people specifically. It is the first global award recognising the work of young politicians and was launched to counter the low level of youth engagement in politics.

Politician of the Year Award Ceremony 2019

Politician of the Year Award Ceremony 2018

2020 Winners

Member of the European Parliament, Germany

Member of Parliament, Zimbabwe

Mayor of Stockton, United States

Member of the Philippines House of Representatives

Mayor of Maydan Wardak Province

2019 Winners

Spokesperson for La République En Marche!, France


Green Party MEP for Yorkshire and the Humber & Lord Mayor of Sheffield, UK

President of the National Assembly, Venezuela


Democratic Alliance representative, South Africa

Minister for Tourism, Industries and Innovation & Minister of Justice, Iceland

2018 Winners

Government Assembly Member, Ghana


Youngest MP to serve on a country’s legislative body in the Caribbean, Bahamas

Member of the National Assembly, Kenya


Youngest Senator in Australian parliamentary history

Secretary of State for Vocational Training, Tunisia