Discussion session, Gwangju Democratization Movement. Thursday 28 May

gwangju democratization movement

Join a discussion led by OYW Ambassador James Paek who is a Global Ambassador for the Institute for Economics and Peace.

James will be leading a discussion session to commemorate the 40th anniversary of the Gwangju Democratization Movement, which was May 18, with the objective of bringing young leaders together to share similar experiences of democratisation movements in their home countries and discuss how to build and/or preserve democracy and freedom. The demonstrations from this movement are often referred to as 'Korea's Tiananmen Square Protests'; you can learn more about it in this older article here.

This is a major democratic movement relatively unknown to the wider world, which is why James wants to lead a session on it. He will start the session by sharing his expertise on Korean history, and how this moment allows us to reflect on peacebuilding and reconciliation. He will then open the floor to participants to share their views and personal experiences, either related to this particular movement or ones in their own countries.

Date: Thursday 28 May

Time: 8.30am EST / 1:30pm BST / 9:30pm KST

Duration: 1 hour

Location: Zoom (link to follow)

RSVP