Politician of The Year Award

POTY small banner


According to the Inter-Parliamentary Union, only 2% of parliamentarians globally are under the age of 30 and just 14% are under 40. The issue is exacerbated by policies in 73% of countries which restrict young people of voting age from running for office. Lack of representation raises the substantial risk of disconnecting an entire generation from their nations’ political processes.

The One Young World Politician of the Year Award was created to recognise the most promising young politicians between the ages of 18-35 from around the world. The winners are chosen based on the impact they are having in their home countries and how they have used their position to benefit young people specifically. It is the first global award recognising the work of young politicians and was launched to counter the low level of youth engagement in politics.

This year's award will be presented to 5 winners at One Young World 2020 in Munich.

Eligibility Criteria

To be considered for the award, nominees must:

  • Be aged between 18 and 35 years old
  • Hold/have held elected or appointed office at any political level (local, national or supranational)
  • Have had a tangible and material impact on young people in their communities
  • Have acted to highlight the importance of political participation as a way to effect positive change

In addition to receiving the award:

  • Access to the entirety of the One Young World Summit 2020 in Munich
  • Hotel accommodation on a private basis between 13 and 17 (inclusive) October 2020
  • The cost of travel to and from Munich (flights in economy)
  • Catering, which includes breakfast, lunch and dinner
  • Transport between the Summit accommodation and the Summit venue

Applications and Nominations have closed

Politics should be a realistic and attractive vocation for young women and men, and this award honours a host of leaders who are paving the way for future generations.

Mary Robinson

Politician of the Year Award Ceremony 2019

Politician of the Year Award Ceremony 2018

2019 Winners

Spokesperson for La République En Marche!, France

President of the National Assembly, Venezuela

Minister for Tourism, Industries and Innovation & Minister of Justice, Iceland

Green Party MEP for Yorkshire and the Humber & Lord Mayor of Sheffield, UK

Democratic Alliance representative, South Africa

2018 Winners

Government Assembly Member, Ghana

Member of the National Assembly, Kenya

Secretary of State for Vocational Training, Tunisia

Youngest MP to serve on a country’s legislative body in the Caribbean, Bahamas

Youngest Senator in Australian parliamentary history

2019 Judges

Former Prime Minister, The Netherlands

Co-anchor of Noticiero Univision and Co-host of Aquí y Ahora

Chair & Founder, Mo Ibrahim Foundation, and Founder, Celtel International

President of Women Journalists Without Chains, and Nobel Peace Laureate 2011

First black woman in South African history to be elected Leader of the Opposition in Parliament

Chair, Mary Robinson Foundation for Climate Justice and former President, Ireland